Watch the Longest Lunar Eclipse of the Century

It'll last for almost two hours on July 27, 2018.

Scenic View Of Full Moon During Lunar Eclipse
Getty ImagesMauro Sagginelli / EyeEm

Update 7/27: A live video of the total lunar eclipse—the longest of the century, set to last almost two hours—from timeanddate.com will start at 2:00 p.m. Eastern time. You can watch the lunar eclipse in its entirety below.

[Related: Everything To Know About the January 2019 Lunar Eclipse]

Original Article:

There have been some spectacular lunar and solar eclipses over the past few years, and next month brings another show for stargazers to check out.

The next total lunar eclipse will occur on July 27, 2018. A lunar eclipse occurs when the moon passes through Earth’s shadow, at which point it takes on a reddish tint, which is why the eclipse is colloquially called a "." You won't want to miss this eclipse, as it will be the longest total lunar eclipse of the 21st century, lasting one hour and 43 minutes.

The total eclipse will take place from 7:30 p.m. UTC (3:30 p.m. Eastern) until 9:13 p.m. UTC (5:13 p.m. Eastern). The moon will be partially eclipsed for roughly an hour before and after the total eclipse, and the maximum eclipse will occur at 8:22 p.m. UTC (4:22 p.m. Eastern).

Can't wait for this event next month - total lunar eclipse on 27 July. The rises during full eclipse from the UK but that could give amazing views of a red Moon rising into a sky tinged with colour from the opposite sunset. Last total lunar eclipse from UK was Sep 2015:

— Steve Brown (@sjb_astro)
[/]

The eclipse will be completely visible over Eastern Africa and Central Asia, and will be partially seen over Western Africa, Eastern Asia, South America, Europe, and Australia.

As an added bonus, Mars will also appear especially in the sky that night as it moves toward its closest approach to Earth in 15 years, meaning eclipse watchers may be able to catch a great view of the Red Planet alongside the blood moon.

Over the next six weeks, Mars will be closer to earth than it has been in 15 years! Take a look at the night sky through July and enjoy a great view of the 35.8Million miles away "close-up."
via

— Mars One (@MarsOneProject)

Stargazers in North America and the Arctic will not be able to view the blood moon in the sky, but there will be plenty of coverage online. The will start a livestream at 6:30 p.m. UTC (2:30 p.m. Eastern) and will begin streaming at 6:00 p.m. UTC (2:00 p.m. Eastern).

The next total lunar eclipse that will be viewable from the United States is just seven months away, coming on .

Advertisement - Continue Reading Below
More From Moon and Mars